Getting your Florida Driver’s License

Florida road

Are you looking to apply for your Florida driver’s license? GoSwerve is now open in Orange County and ready to make a difference. Getting your FL driver’s license should be seamless if you meet the eligibility requirements. Applicants must also complete Drivers Ed and various tests. Here’s an overview of the requirements, tests and application process:

Requirements for Florida Drivers License

You must meet specific requirements to be eligible for a Florida driver’s license, also known as the Class E driver’s license. Applicants should be at least 16 years old and need to complete the drug and alcohol course. You must also pass the vision and hearing test, the Class E knowledge exam, and the driving skills test. Applicants must also provide identification and other requested documents. 

If you’re below 18 years, you’ll need to obtain and hold a learner’s permit for at least 12 months or until you reach 18 years of age. During this time, you will need to avoid being convicted for traffic violations. You must take the Basic Driver Improvement course if you have one moving violation. Applicants below 18 years must also complete 50 hours of driving experience, including 10 hours of night driving.

Tests Needed for Florida Drivers License

The Florida driver’s license involves passing the vision and hearing test, Class E knowledge exam and Florida driving test. You can boost your chances of passing such tests by taking a Drivers Ed from a reputable school like GoSwerve. You also need to complete the drug and alcohol course. Here’s what you should know about the different courses and tests:

1.    Drug and Alcohol Course

New drivers in Florida must complete the drug and alcohol course, also known as DATA (drug, alcohol and traffic awareness). The course covers the dangers and repercussions of DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol and other illicit substances/drugs). You don’t need to take this course if you have a learner’s permit, as you’ll have completed it before acquiring your permit. Applicants with licenses from other states also don’t need to take another course.

2.    Vision and Hearing Test

All drivers in Florida must take and pass a vision and hearing test before applying for a driver’s license. You can complete this test in person by visiting your local FLHSMV (Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles) location. Applicants who need contact lenses, corrective glasses, or hearing aids to pass the test will have added restrictions to their license. The condition requires you to always wear the lenses or hearing aid while driving.

3.    Class E Knowledge Exam

The Class E knowledge exam is the same test for drivers applying for a learner’s permit. You don’t need this test if you already have a learner’s permit. The exam features 50 questions covering Florida traffic laws, safe driving practices, and traffic controls. Applicants must get 40 of the 50 questions right to pass the test, which features multiple choices. You can use the Florida Driver License Handbook to learn everything you need for the test.

4.    Florida Driving Test

The Florida driving test, or Class E Driving Skill test, involves behind-the-wheel driving under the supervision of a licensed examiner. You can take this test at the FLHSMV location after scheduling it online. Applicants will need an insured vehicle with a valid license plate. The vehicle must also pass the safety inspection. Driving schools like GoSwerve can provide you with an eligible vehicle for the driving test. 

The test covers various aspects, including proper driving posture, using driving signals, backing up, turning, and approaching crossings. Other evaluations include maintaining the right lane, keeping a safe driving distance, overtaking, following traffic signals and signs, and stopping quickly. The Class E Driving Skill test also includes observing the right-of-way, completing a three-point turn, straight-in parking, and parking on a grade.

How to Apply For Florida Driver’s License

Applying for a Florida driver’s license involves completing the necessary Florida driving school and passing the tests above. The steps for license application start with taking the drug and alcohol course and passing the vision and hearing test. Applicants must also pass the Class E knowledge exam and the Florida driving test. 

You can visit the FLHSMV location to obtain your license after course/test completion. Required documents include proof of identity, residential address, and Social Security Number. A birth certificate or US passport will suffice for proof of identity. You can use a bill or current year school transcript to prove your address. For the SSN, you need the original card or a W-2 tax form.

Applicants below 18 must also provide a parental consent form, proctoring form, or certification of minor driving experience form. The consent form is for unmarried minors, while the proctoring form is for those who’ve taken the Class E knowledge test. Juveniles with a learner’s permit need the certification of minor driving experience form. Check out what to bring from the FLHSMV website.

Reputable Drivers Ed in Florida

Getting your Florida driver’s license is a straightforward process if you complete Drivers Ed at a reputable school like GoSwerve. We offer a unique curriculum that steps away from the conventional driver’s education to improve skill learning and adoption. Our goal is to make you a skillful driver with knowledge of best safety practices. We also offer defensive driving courses for adults and customized programs for anyone looking to become a better driver.


Swerve Driving School
Scroll to Top

Contact the Media Department at
911 Driving School

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.